SMS Academic Program

Message from the Principal

Dear Families,

Welcome and welcome back to the Special Music School. We are delighted that you have chosen our school in your quest to provide a truly unique educational experience for your child. I believe the Special Music School is a place where children have the potential to achieve greatness in many ways. Our small learning community has the ability to provide a holistic academic program for every child. We have the innate ability to work with each student individually- crafting academic goals in each content area that go well beyond the standards-based education many other schools provide.   Our faculty is dedicated to academic richness which is integrated, inquiry-based, and implements a truly accelerated curriculum.

We at the Special Music School approach a child’s learning not only in terms of academic achievement but also the importance of self-esteem as fundamental in our pursuit to provide a truly exceptional education. We are conscious of a young child’s need for play, to have choices, and to balance the curriculum between child-initiated and teacher–directed activities. We later value the more mature child’s need for expression and independence. We consider the child’s social growth as important in a school that fosters performers and is committed to high academic achievement. Above all, we value each child as being unique and valuable to our community.

This school would not be possible without the work of our predecessors – who had the vision to create a music school which believes that music instruction should never be an add-on; rather direct music instruction along with an equally rigorous academic curriculum is a powerful combination in a child’s development and growth in becoming exceptional.

Again, thank you and welcome (back) to the school. I look forward to watching and supporting your children grow and develop into young musicians, future authors and inquisitive learners. I look forward to our continued partnership.

Thank you,

Katie Banucci Smith, Principal

Academic Faculty & Staff

Kindergarten: Stephanie Cherubin  Stephanie@specialmusicschool.org

1st Grade: Marisa Bolson  marisa@specialmusicschool.org

2nd Grade: Nicole Honrado   nicole@specialmusicschool.org

3rd Grade: Susan Myung   susan@specialmusicschool.org

4h Grade: Abby Rapoport  abby@specialmusicschool.org

5th Grade: Kerri Hook  Kerri@specialmusicschool.org

Middle School Humanities: Shannon Potts  SPotts@specialmusicschool.org

Middle School History: Claire Shweky cshweky@specialmusicschool.org

Middle School Science: Sam Rawson srawson@specialmusicschool.org

Middle School Math: George Tsugranes  MrT@specialmusicschool.org

High School English: Noah Gordon  ngordon@specialmusicschool.org

High School English: Nathan Bloom  nblom@specialmusicschool.org

High School Social Studies: Abby Plump  aplump@specialmusicschool.org

High School Social Studies: Ari Friedman  afriedman@specialmusicschool.org

High School Science: Alison Farrell  afarrellt@specialmusicschool.org

High School Science: Hemal Pathak  hpathak@specialmusicschool.org

High School Math: Elli Simonen  esimonen@specialmusicschool.org

High School Math: Jeff Reeder  jreeder@specialmusicschool.org

High School Learning Specialist: Lauren Ryan  lryan@specialmusicschool.org

High School Learning Specialist: Suraj Gopal

Spanish, Middle School & High School:

Physical Education:  Sam Fox  sfox@specialmusicschool.org

Visual Arts: Ireena Gurvich  ireena@specialmusicschool.org

SMS Guidance/High School Counseling: Laura Hohm  laura@specialmusicschool.org

ESL Library: Sarah Anderson  sanderson@specialmusicschool.org

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF
Principal: Katherine Banucci-Smith  katie@specialmusicschool.org

Assistant Principal: Kristen Palmieri  kristen@specialmusicschool.org

Parent Coordinator: Lisa Stump  lisa@specialmusicschool.org

Academic Business Manager: Alexandra Dunbar  alexandra@specialmusicschool.org

K-8 School Aid: Martin Nolan  martin@specialmusicschool.org

K-8 School Aid: Sarah Rosario  srosario@specialmusicschool.org

School Safety Officer:  Officer Hoques

CONTACT INFORMATION:
Academic Office Main Phone Number: (212) 501-3318

Contact the School

Academic Office: 212.501.3318
Music Office: 212.501.3316
KMC Front Desk: 212.501.3308
KMC Support: 212.501.3356

Calendar Quick View

Donate or Pay Your SMS PTA Dues With Paypal. Use Link Below.

You can Pay your PTA Dues, or Donate to the PTA online. It is that easy! For Dues Payments, plese add 3% to help offset PayPal's processing fee. Thank You. "PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!"





Click Below to Shop at Amazon.com: Free Money For the PTA

The SMS PTA is an Amazon affiliate. If you go to Amazon.com using the click below, the SMS PTA will earn a percentage on any item you buy at Amazon.com. There is no additional costs to you! And, yes, it is Free Money For the PTA! So, click today.

Katie’s Korner

For The Principal's Message, Click Here!

Kristen’s HS 311 Report

For Kristen's HS Message, Click Here!

Lisa’s Weekly Update

To go to Lisa's Weekly Updates and Reminders, Click Here!